General Information about Kagawa

Facing the Seto Inland Sea, Kagawa Prefecture lies on the island of Shikoku in southwestern Japan, about 750km from Tokyo. Kagawa enjoys a mild climate year-round, and is generally free of natural disasters such as earthquakes and floods. The one million people of Kagawa enjoy life in harmony with nature.

The Seto Inland Sea is well known as a calm sea with gentle waves. There are also many islands of various sizes in this region. Its scenic beauty is beyond description and the area is designated as one of the most beautiful national parks in Japan. Aside from the beauty of the Seto Inland Sea, there are many other wonderful sightseeing spots graced with rich nature and history in Kagawa.

Kagawa Prefecture, called "Sanuki" before the Meiji Restoration, consists of five areas: Shodoshima Island, Tosan( East Sanuki), Takamatsu, Chusan (Central Sanuki) and Seisan (West Sanuki). This guidebook will focus on the attractive spots in western Kagawa including Chusan and Seisan Areas.
The Chusan Area consists of three cities, Marugame, Sakaide and Zentsuji. There are also two counties, Ayauta and Nakatado with eleven towns. This area has been the gateway to Shikoku since the opening of the Seto Ohashi Bridge in 1988. This district is known for the production of traditional handicrafts, such as paper fans called "Uchiwa" and wood carving "Itto-bori".

The Seisan Area includes Kanonji (about 45,000 pop.) and one county called Mitoyo which encompasses 9 small towns. There are several interesting traditions and legends associated with this area.

We hope that this guidebook will help increase your excitement and enjoyment in exploring Western Kagawa

Copyright (c) 1999 Marugame High School All rights reserved.